Finding my AHA!! moment

Going on the PHAST trip to Gulfport/Biloxi Mississippi, I had absolutely no idea what to expect and most definitely had not a clue as to what I would blog about. However this trip changed my views on certain aspects of life in in the United States.  Perhaps living in Ann Arbor, and being shielded from the harsh reality of poverty, crime and uncertainty, I forgot that life “happens” to people in different ways. It was almost unexpected (for want of a better word to use) to come across people who were struggling with issues that one would assume are found only in developing countries and definitely not in the proverbial land of gold. Issues of ill health, poverty, lack of education, lack of potable water….the list is endless. And it is particularly worrisome to me that the down-trodden according to the statistics constitutes mostly those considered as the minority race. I have so many unanswered questions and I hope someday I may get clarifications. Anyways, though I can not say for certain that I found my AHA!! moment, one thing I am clear about is the fact that I had a beyond- awesome time working with my teammates . Despite the fact that we had only just met, there was this genuine comfortable working camaraderie amongst us which made for a delightful week. Downtime at The Shed and walking the Biloxi bridge to “”shed off” The Shed will definitely not be forgotten anytime soon. I am glad that I had this experience and that I got to see the other forgotten side of living in the U.S.

Leave a Reply

