Leading Up to Texas

We leave for Texas in a week! Time has flown by this semester. I feel like we were just in our first class learning about potential projects and now we’re about to head out on our adventure! We’re meeting at the airport Sunday afternoon and staying the week in South Texas. We’re returning the following Saturday. I’ve never been to Texas but I’ve heard from most everyone that it’s a completely different world down there if you go off the beaten path. My friend is from Texas and he said the Rio Grande Valley, where we’re going, is similar to Mexico. I’m a pretty picky eater so I’m hoping I can find food I like! Otherwise, it’ll be a long week of PB & J’s.

My group is going to be interviewing health professionals on their opinions of the Affordable Care Act and how the implementation has worked for their community. I have a feeling we’ll be hearing a lot of opinionated individuals, it being Texas. Wednesday afternoon we have off to either go to South Padre or see the bridge at the US-Mexico border. Either one will be a lot of fun so I’m not sure which I’ll choose to do yet. If it’s sunny, I may want to go to the beach!

The week is going to be a lot of work but I think I’ll have a lot of fun in the process. I’m excited for my first real world experience in public health!

Leave a Reply

