Texas, Here We Come!

11 - 2 yearsHey everyone! Aparna here – getting ready for a sun filled week in Texas!

As we prepare for our trip to Brownsville in less than a week, I can’t help but feel excited and anxious to get started! I have never been to Texas, or South Texas, so I’m looking forward to learning all about the community and put all our classroom sessions to the test. The project that I’ll be working on in collaboration with Professors from the University of Texas: Brownsville is going to look at the efficacy of the Affordable Care Act (ACA). This is actually Phase 2 of a project – last year, during Phase 1, the project looked at how the ACA affected patients/potential patients. This year, we will be looking at how ACA implementation has affected the healthcare professionals.

I am interested to hear about their perspective. Since its inception, there have been lots of discussions surrounding the ACA – mostly political in nature. I am hoping that during our time in Texas, we will be able to hear an unadulterated version of events as they unfold at a very local, concentrated area.

I am apprehensive about our trip because I don’t know Spanish and I also don’t know much about Spanish culture. I am interested to learn more from everyone in the community that we will be in, especially about their culture. I’m also interested to see if there will be any connections to culture and healthcare.

Finally, it’s hard to believe that the trip is so soon! It feels like the semester just started, and now we’re being catapaulted into Spring Break! It’s going to be a busy week, but I can’t wait to get started 🙂