PHAST Texas. Here we go!

Research. Check.

Lit review. Check.

Brush up on Spanish. Check.

As I cross off my to-do list in preparation for Texas, I can’t help but feel unprepared for what this deployment has in store for me. Stepping into someone else’s home turf, being an outsider is intimidating, especially when I know I am going to stick out like a sore thumb. I have read many articles and Buzzfeeds to help prepare me for what to expect when I get to South Texas, but I just don’t think pictures of amazing food and exotic birds can do it justice.

A perfect world scenario of what will happen when I get to Texas:

  1. Get off the plane and leap for joy because the sun is out.
  2. Meet my principle investigator who is going to feed me encouraging words and make me feel like an indestructible superhero.
  3. Go out to the communities and crank out 1,000 surveys
  4. Have everyone love me and thank me for using their time.
  5. Win an award for my amazing awesomeness and super abilities to collect data
  6. Fly home and bring the sun with me for an early Michigan spring.

Ahh…wouldn’t that be nice. But let’s be real, no one ever gets praised for handing out surveys.

What is likely to happen when I get to Texas:

  1. Get off the plane and leap for joy because the sun is out
  2. Meet my principle investigator who gives me a huge confidence boost and also tells me very intimidating things about what I’ll encounter
  3. I stick my foot in my mouth and unintentionally swallow it
  4. People will avoid me like the plague because I am asking them to take a survey
  5. I become super grateful to the people who pity me and take the survey
  6. I fly home and the sun sends me a rain check letting me know she’s coming soon.

Well, there’s only one way to find out how this is going to go down. Texas, here I come.

Leave a Reply

