A True Grenadian Experience!

Today was our team’s first full day in Grenada and we were able to spend it touring the entire island. I truly learned why Grenada is known as the spice island. Nutmeg, cocoa, cinnamon, mace, curry, vanilla, and so much more! The smells were amazing and I’m sure the taste would be impeccable. We learned a lot about the island’s history, culture, and economy, which made me feel even more excited about talking to the Grenadian people in the next couple of days. From this tour I can see that this international experience is going to be very different from any other that I have had. I am thrilled to be able to do public health focused work here, especially after learning its importance to the Grenadian people.

20150301_093624

Learning that approximately 60% of the population is below the age of 25 and 40% of the population is unemployed, help to put a lot of the health issues that our team hopes to address into perspective. I was able to think about different ways in which social determinants of health would affect domestic violence, which is what I will be working on during my week here. I am aware that addressing a public health issue such as domestic violence, which carries a lot of stigma globally, will be a challenge; However, I am confident that my team and I will discover a lot about what is being done to help women who experience domestic violence, and how we can help in making sure that that these women are getting the resources that they need.

Until next time!

Bianca

Leave a Reply

