Bringing my HBHE (Health Behavior, Health Education) to Grenada

After a long week of hard work, today was the day my partner Chelsea and I presented our work to the Ministry of Education. My project explored the gendered patterns of alcohol consumption among Grenadian adolescents. We interviewed young people and adults about adolescent alcohol consumption and we received a multitude of responses. I found it to be amazing of how much work Chelsea and I accomplished in such a short period of time.

In regards to how this experience relates to my academic endeavors, it has allowed me to interact with diverse individuals and communities. This also happens to be one of the competencies endorsed in my department of Health Behavior, Health Education (HBHE).

Furthermore, this experience has reinforced my awareness of educational privilege of being able to partake in this project considering that I am someone who is not a part of the culture. Therefore, I made an effort to suspend any forms of judgment I may have had as an effort not to reinforce any privilege I may have.

In the process of interviewing Grenadians, I was able to exercise the practice of cultural humility, which is a part of the HBHE competencies.

All in all, I am extremely glad to have been a part of this experience and I hope to continue this sort of work in the future.

Leave a Reply

