It’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday.

My trip to Grenada has certainly been the highlight of my graduate school experience. I am extremely grateful to have been a part of this opportunity. PHAST (Public Health Action Support Team) is a phenomenon program in which students, like me, are given the opportunity to apply what we learn in class to real life situations. I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything in the world. This is by far the best Spring Break I’ve ever had. It was nice not to sit in a classroom for hours but instead travel throughout another country interacting community members all while learning simultaneously and being welcomed with open arms in the process. I am a firm believer that education doesn’t have to be strictly limited to the classroom. This trip reinforced my knowledge in research ethics and strengthened my skills in conducting qualitative research.

With that being said, today is the day I return to Ann Arbor but I would like to take this time to thank the people who made this experience possible.

Dana Thomas: Thank you for giving me the opportunity to partake in this opportunity.

Rohan Jeremiah: Thank you for all of your assistance with how to approach the project.

Chelsea Foo: Thank you for being an amazing partner.

Ministry of Education: Thank you for welcoming us with open arms and your willingness to collaborate with us.

PHAST crew: Thank you all for being an amazing group of people.

Grenada: Thank you for being such a wonderful place with beautiful people with such a rich history. With such assets, no wonder why it’s so hard to say goodbye.

Leave a Reply

