Just as I Feared, The End Is Near

As I currently sit in the McAllen airport, I am very reflective about my experiences fIMG_4152rom the past week. This week, I gathered community-based data with my colleague Grace for the Tu Salud Si Cuenta program in Cameron County, Texas. Through this experience, I have learned so much. I have also had the pleasure of working with the best people.
My preceptors from The University of Texas School of Public Health at Brownsville Regional Campus were some of the most friendly and welcoming people that I have ever had the pleasure of working with. They all made sure that Grace and I felt completely comfortable and also took time out of their busy schedules on Monday to take us on a tour of downtown Brownville and the Brownsville Regional Campus.
Throughout the week I was able to witness a variety of inspiring moments. I was able to go to three of the free exercise classes that are part of the Tu SaludIMG_1174 Si Cuenta program. Free exercise classes are a part of this program because as I mentioned in my first blog post, Tu Salud Si Cuenta is all about improving the health of the community. At each exercise class, there were so many women all working out together. It was so inspiring to see this and the classes looked like a lot of fun! I was also able to chat with the community health workers that are he instructors for the classes. They are very inspiring women who clearly practice what they preach!

Overall, I feel so blessed and so grateful to have had this experience! I have learned so much about public health practice and about the Rio Grande Valley community as a whole. I am also so grateful for the relationships that I have formed throughout this week. I have met so many great people and have also gotten to know the people in our group so much more! Words cannot truly describe how glad I am that I chose to go on this trip, and would go on a trip like this again in a heartbeat!

IMG_4131

Leave a Reply

