Cocoa, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Oh My!

I have never been much of a cook, but somehow I found myself returning from Grenada with cocoa, tumeric, nutmeg, mace, cinnamon, cloves, and bay leaves. I kept putting off buying spices because I was not sure if I would ever use them. I decided on the last day that I would buy some in order to challenge myself to cook more. I guess I need to learn how to use some of these raw ingredients (especially the nutmeg…how do you crack it open?) as well as find some recipes to try!

This week was full of challenges from interviewing groups of up to 50 students to creating presentations for the Ministry of Education. Working through these challenges I realized how important it is to have a strong support system with you. Rachel and I were able to work through those challenges together and we were strongly supported by Mr. Dave Alexander who we worked with in Grenada. He helped us work through our interview questions, our presentations, and taught us as much as has could (in that short amount of time) of the history of school drug policy in Grenada. I am pretty sure I now know more about drug policy in Grenada than the United States! I truly appreciate all of the time he spent teaching and helping us during this time.

Hopefully some of you can be my support system for my cooking endeavors. If anybody has some recipes for me to try, comment below!

2 thoughts on “Cocoa, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Oh My!

  1. I put freshly grated nutmeg into almost any dessert recipe – try it in a sweet potato pie or in just plain chocolate chip cookies! When I went on the first Grenada trip in 2013 one of the spice merchants showed us how to crack open the nutmeg with what he dubbed “a Grenada nutcracker.” Take one soda bottle or similar, and whack the nut with the edge of the bottom. Nutmeg opened!

Leave a Reply

