Breezy Like Sunday Morning

First Thoughts

It was the best answer that I could offer. On the first day of Public Health in Action: Grenada, students were asked to list some of the words that come to mind when thinking about the country of Grenada. I wrote down one word and one word only on the board. The word was “Breezy.” My only point of reference for Grenada was my concept of the Caribbean as a whole. I had never been to the Caribbean before, but as a child, I watched television commercials encouraging Americans to vacation there. These commercials featured clear beaches, smiling locals, and of course relaxing breezes. So, naturally my thoughts about Grenada were similar to the idealized version of Caribbean that I saw during commercials. None of these commercials featured a holistic view the Caribbean.

Reality Check

After completing the exercise in class, I did some research and found out that Grenada had so much more to offer than clean beaches, smiling locals, and relaxing breezes. Few people are aware that Grenada is known as the Spice Island and is the world’s second largest producer of nutmeg. In addition, the country produces a significant amount of other spices such as mace, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves. When people think about Grenada, I hope that they are able to open their minds to the possibility of Grenada being a beautiful vacation destination AND a premier place for spices. I’m hoping that the next time someone asks me to write down my thoughts about Grenada, I won’t say breezy.

To learn more about Grenada click on the link provided, and let me know what new perspective you have gained about the country.

Official Website of the Government of Grenada Website

One thought on “Breezy Like Sunday Morning

  1. “Few people are aware that Grenada is known as the Spice Island and is the world’s second largest producer of nutmeg” REALLY? Honestly, that is ALL I know of Grenada actually, as well as people who aren’t even from The Caribbean. Strange. But I get what you’re saying tho, too much brainwashing with the sun, sea, sand BS. Be the change you seek, my friend. #BigUpUrself.

    — Blessings

Leave a Reply

