From Trinidad to Grenada

Cinnamon, nutmeg, and beaches are the things that first comes to mind when I think of Grenada. So I must admit I jumped at the opportunity to go to Grenada, particularly because of my connection to the Caribbean region. I grew up in Trinidad and Tobago, about a 30-minute flight away from Grenada but I have never been to the island. Because of my Caribbean upbringing, I feel a strong desire to give back to the region, which gave me the tools I needed for my success today.

In Grenada I will be working on a project with the Grenada Planned Parenthood Association (GPPA), to help build the organization’s capacity to implement the first ever national sexual and reproductive health survey. Over the break, my group will be working to continue reviewing the survey, pilot test the survey with focus groups and start working on the Grenada IRB application and research protocol. Furthermore, I will use this time to build relationships for when I return to Grenada in May to continue this project as my internship.

My passion for the region and commitment to social justice have drawn me to this groundbreaking work as I see this as the first step in shifting policy making in not only Grenada but in the rest of the Caribbean region as well. I believe that implementing this survey can improve social justice as it provides a voice for women and an opportunity for women to take control of how their sexual and reproductive health is perceived. Ultimately, through this experience, I will emerge as a better public health professional, as I will gain experience in recognizing effective community partnerships and gain practical experience in the field of global health. I am truly excited to begin this groundbreaking work in Grenada and to see the similarities and differences that may exist between Grenada and Trinidad.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “From Trinidad to Grenada

Leave a Reply

