Mr. Mandoo and the Chocolate Factory

I would consider myself spiritual, but not necessarily religious. There have been very few occasions that I have…a feeling. This is a feeling that you are at the exact place you are supposed to be at the right time. I woke up this morning, and I walked outside to the most beautiful view and I took a deep breath and I had an overwhelming emotion of being at the right place at the right time. There is something so serene about this island whether it is the warm humid breeze or the soft crashing of the waves while eating breakfast. This place makes you stop and see what is all around you.

My first day abroad in Grenada was so amazing because we were able to see so much of the country ranging from the ocean to the historical implications of colonialism. We were all so excited to go the chocolate factory, and about half was through we started asking questions about a large cement wall. The woman at the chocolate factory explained that the area had been a British plantation. I was really taken back by how casually she said it, and that’s when I began to notice the stark contrast of the pastel Victorian houses against the lush green forest. I was astonished by how I was able to see slavery in another part of the world, and how it has made me want to learn more by continuing to travel the world.

The main thing that I remember from our first day in Grenada that was a quote from Mr. Mando0. He was talking about his own person cultural dimensions within his family and he said, “we are all one people, we are all God’s children.” I definitely think growing up in America has caused me to have a very different outlook on race and oppression but I am so happy to see it from another cultural perspective. I hope for the rest of my days in Grenada I continue to learn about myself as much as I learn from the Grenadian people who we continue to work with, as well as my own classmates.

Leave a Reply

